Ghost hunt at RAF Scampton

This is the Forum of Squadrons, Crews and Aircraft of Bomber Command & Related Luftwaffe personnel and aircraft.
Nocturna mors
Flight Lieutenant
Flight Lieutenant

Ghost hunt at RAF Scampton

Post by Nocturna mors »

A ghost hunt video that features a tour of "Gibbos" old office. http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-li ... e-15521637

Rgds NM
"Rule Britannia two tanners make a bob,three make eighten pence and four two bob"!
chromeboy
Sergeant
Sergeant

Re: Ghost hunt at RAF Scampton

Post by chromeboy »

when i was down a few weeks ago Roger was telling me there were apparently 4 RAF spirits haunting the place, plus a roman centurion! nice to see him & Mervyn in the video though :)

Kevin.
Riskey
Warrant Officer 1st Class

Post by Riskey »

Theres even storys of "Ghost " Lancasters taking to the air at Scampton
Nocturna mors
Flight Lieutenant
Flight Lieutenant

Post by Nocturna mors »

I am not an expert but, :) .........i dare say some iof these stories are the product of airmen trying to scare each other half to death..... :o :o :o :o :o

RAF airmen stationed at places like Scampton, must of known the history associated with it.... and with some imagination and convincing story telling, its not hard to imagine rumours like these spreading through the camp like wild fire. Some of these stories become legends very quickly although they have no basis in fact. They were probably told to the new recruits upon arrival at their barracks among all the other "leg pulling" and forces black humour.